Sayyid Mohammad Khatami attending in a wedding


Sayyid Mohammad Khatami born 14 October 1943) served as the fifth president of from 3 August 1997 to 3 August 2005. He also served as minister of Culture from 1982 to 1992. Later, he was critical of the government of President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad. In January 2010, Mohammad Khatami stated that “he was not in the position to accept the award”, and the prize was given to Dariush Shayegan alone. The media are forbidden on the orders of Tehran’s prosecutor from publishing pictures of Khatami, or quoting his words, on account of his support for the defeated reformist candidates in the disputed 2009 re-election of Mahmoud Ahmadinejad.


Pages ( 1 of 4 ): 1 234Next »
September 12, 2021 | 7:22 pm